Home   Human Rights, Commission on  Human Rights Commissioners

Human Rights Commissioners

Untitled Page

Human Rights Commissioners

The Cook County Human Rights Commission is an eleven member board appointed by the President of the Cook County Board of Commissioners, subject to the advice and consent of the Cook County Board.  Human Rights Commission members must be residents of Cook County, and may not be employed by the County during their term.  Commission members, who are appointed to a three-year term, serve without compensation.  Appointments to the Human Rights Commission have a strong commitment to and involvement in civil rights and human relation issues.  Human Rights Commission Board Members have demonstrated a passion to the ideals set forth in the County’s Human Rights Ordinance and a commitment to making Cook County a better place to live and work. 


Kenneth A. Gunn, Chair

Karina Ayala-Bermejo

Jae Choi Kim
Enoch Clark-Bey

Sheila H. Schultz

Charles E. Harris, II

Arshad Javid

William B. Kelley


Meetings of the Commission

Regular meetings of the Cook County Commission on Human Rights are held on the third Tuesday of each month (unless designated otherwise).  The meetings are held at 2:00 p.m. in Suite 3040, 69 W. Washington Street, Chicago, IL.


Meetings of the Commission are open to the public. If you need a sign language interpreter or any other assistance, please contact the Commission at least 72 hours prior to the date of the scheduled meeting at 312.603.1100 (voice) or 312.603.1101 (TT/TDD).


Agency Contact Information Portlet  
Contact Information
Contact Information

Bureau Name:

Office of the President

Main Office:

69 W. Washington
Suite 3040
Chicago, Illinois 60602

Telephone: (312) 603-1100
Fax: (312) 603-9988
TDD: (312) 603-1101

Ranjit Hakim, Executive Director

M-F: 9:00 AM-4:00PM; Sat-Sun: Closed